HCSA Board of 2019 / 2020

Celia López EscribanoPresident
Sagnik BhattacharyaSecretary
Emma WitteveenTreasurer
Internal affairs
Fleming ZimbalskiExternal Affairs
Jildou SchotanusPublic Relations

To read about previous boards, click here.

Hi everyone and welcome! I am Celia and it is a pleasure to introduce myself as the 2019-2020 President of the Board of the HCSA. I am currently in my last year of my BSc Chemical Engineering degree, which, despite its demandingness, I am very much enjoying! I am acquiring critical engineering skills and scientific knowledge, and learning to apply them to enhance global sustainable development. Besides my studies, I regularly engage in sports like gymnastics or running, and love spending time with people who make me laugh, encourage me to be better than I was yesterday, and make me feel at home. The HCSA played such an important role for me in this sense, and I hope that, by the end of this year, this will resonate with you, too. In addition to personal and professional growth and developing your network, being an HCSA-er means being a part of our family. I hope to see you soon at our upcoming events — I cannot wait to meet you!


Hey, I am Sagnik and for this year (2019-2020), it is my pleasure to be working with the HCSA as its Secretary. I study Modern and Contemporary History, but you will usually find me at one particular table in the Nijenborg 4 cafeteria at Zernike with multiple cups of coffee adorning the table; or walking through the city to lecture halls. In my free time I like reading, taking long walks or discussing pretty much anything with pretty much anyone. If you email us, I will be the one responding, and I don’t bite, so if you have any queries do not hesitate to shoot an email – and as usual, see you at our events.


My name is Emma and I’m the Treasurer for the 2019/2020 HCSA Board. I’m 21 years old and started an MSc in Finance in September. Besides my studies, I am interested in sustainability and health, which I really hope to make a priority in the HCSA during this year. When I am not studying or working for the HCSA, I enjoy running, cooking and spending time with friends. I look forward to meeting all of you at the activities in the upcoming year!



Hello everyone! My name is Fleming, I’m 25, from Germany, and I’m most happy to introduce myself as the Commissioner of External Affairs for the HCSA. I just finished my BSc. in Economics & Business Economics and I’m currently following a Pre-MSc. in Econometrics. I’m an ambitious and hard-working student and I strive for a career in academia with particular emphasis on contemporary macroeconomic issues. As you can probably tell from all the big-boy words I used just now, I’m super passionate about what I do and what I study so if you’re looking for anyone who’s interested in politics and economics – I’m your guy. My job as Commissioner of External Affairs will mostly comprise collecting funds for the HCSA so we can continue to provide exciting opportunities for Honours students to get together, as well as representing the association in general. Should you wish to reach out to me then please don’t hesitate to do so. I’d be delighted to get to know you!


Hi! I’m Jildou and the Commissioner of Public Relations for 2019-2020. I’m 19 years old and currently busy with my BSc Chemistry. I like to spend my free time reading and playing games (and telling jokes that only I find funny). As Commissioner of Public Relations I am in charge of the social media and website. So, if you have any feedback, feel free to contact me!


Want to stay updated?

Follow us on Facebook or Instagram to make sure you stay up to date! Any questions? You can always send us an e-mail at board@hcsa.nl